Global Warming: What really is the cause of it?

When I first saw An Inconvenient Truth I was scared. I mean, who wouldn’t be if they heard Al Gore  talking about how the world was becoming hotter and hotter and that if we didn’t stop putting so much CO2 into the air, then soon some of the world would be under water? Then we watched the movie The Great Global Warming Swindle and that movie, although very interesting, has made me less scared, but has not changed by views about the causes of global warming.

Even though they were saying that global warming was not human caused and that it is just part of a normal cycle, I still feel like you cannot ignore the fact that 97% of climate scientists believe global warming is human caused. I believe humans do release a lot of CO2 from our cars and factories and other things such as landfills, but I do not believe that we are the only cause of it. Like Austin said in the last post, oceans also contain a lot of CO2 and many other things in nature contribute the the greenhouse gasses in the atmosphere.

I also still believe that there is such a thing as global warming. The scientists in The Great Global Warming Swindle said that the temperature is always fluctuating and has been high before, but on the graphs they showed, the temperature in the present time was the highest it had ever been, even hotter than the medieval warming period. You cannot ignore this fact, even if you believe that there is no such thing as global warming. They say that global warming is a hoax, but you cannot ignore the facts. Temperatures are rising, and if they keep on rising as fast as they are, soon all the ice will melt and many countries will be flooded. In The Great Global Warming Swindle, they say that the ice has always melted and it is not surprising that it is melting now, but if you look at the statistics, you will learn that ice is melting much faster than it used to.

We need to start to do something about this, even if the CO2 is not all our fault. If we just sit back and ignore the fact that global warming is real, than soon the whole world will be in danger. I think that humans should start listening to the facts, because if they did, they would discover that we need get out there and make the world a better place for the generations of people to come.

8 responses to “Global Warming: What really is the cause of it?”

  1. davidc0017 says :

    I agree with your opinion. The second movie less scared, but did not change my opinion. But I think that the entirety of global warming is inevitable and it will happen. But humans can have such a powerful effect that I think we can lessen the damage by a ton.

  2. alliej0017 says :

    You bring up a good point. No matter what the cause of global warming is, if we don’t take action soon then it will be too late. You don’t have to know the specific causes to help. There are ways such as recycling or conserving energy that really do make a difference. Great post altogether.

    • johns0117 says :

      Yeah, I think that we really need to take action against global warming even though a lot of people don’t believe that it is happening.

  3. ajaym0017 says :

    I fully agree with you in the fact that the second movie was much more calm, and just stated facts instead of trying to scare you into doing something about global warming. I also agree that we need to do something quickly otherwise very bad things will happen. Great Post.

  4. elizam0017 says :

    I definitely agree with you. I think that the second movie was less hard hitting. I think that you bring up some very good points. I think Al Gore said what no one wanted to hear. I think the second movie told us what we wanted to hear and in a calmer way.

  5. forrestm0017 says :

    I completely agree with you. I thought the first movie was very scary and hard hitting whereas the second movie was more calm and of a kind that made us feel safe and feel good about ourselves because it said we were not the ones causing global warming. An Inconvenient Truth was blaming us for not being more responsible about our world, and people as a whole do not like being accused of things.

    • johns0117 says :

      I think that you are really right when you say that people don’t like to be accused of things. I feel like that could be a reason of why more people don’t agree with An Inconvenient Truth.

  6. carolinem0017 says :

    I agree, I felt better after watching the second movie, but how do we know which one to believe? Is their any proof? If people don’t like being accused of global warming, how do we encourage them to act on it?

Leave a Reply

