Is It Hot In Here Or Is It Just Me?

Global warming sparks people’s attention all over the world. The debate over this topic is whether or not humans cause it. Al Gore believes the reason global warming is an issue in the first place is because of humans. There are others that feel as if the rising of Earth’s temperature occurs because of natural causes.

Before learning more about global warming, I thought that I knew a substantial amount of information about the topic. When I started to learn more and more however, I started to feel overwhelmed with all of the facts. As I acquired knowledge on global warming, it made me think about how much I didn’t know to begin with. I had no idea that the ozone layer and greenhouse glasses weren’t the same thing. I also had no clue that Co2 levels are increasing around earth, trapping heat and making the temperature warmer.

In my opinion, us humans are a major cause of global warming. I agree with Al Gore that the cars we drive and factories we work in are emitting pollution into the air. I think that most people don’t want to admit that we are a huge factor in this. I believe that the people who make a lot of money off of the things harming our environment think that money can be earned no other way. I think that we could find a way to use alternate energy to power our “necessities.” There are many things that we humans could do to turn everything around, but as long as we are not all on the same page, it’s impossible.

Global warming is a very dangerous thing and people really need to start taking it seriously. I have heard many people say that they will be dead and gone before anything really serious happens. The only thing I have to say to them is what about your family years from now? What about your however many great grandchildren? How would you feel if you ancestors were in your positions and completely abandoned you? I guarantee you that you wouldn’t be too happy about that.

In Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth, he talks about how the Carbon Dioxide levels are higher than they’ve ever been before. In complete contradiction, The Great Global Warming Swindle said that previous temperatures have been higher and we have nothing to worry about. So who do we believe? Think about it this way, would you rather be wrong about the seriousness of global warming, but have done something positive for our environment, or be right about global warming, but have done nothing and be in a deeper whole than we began in? The future rests in our hands.

4 responses to “Is It Hot In Here Or Is It Just Me?”

  1. elizam0017 says :

    I agree with you completely! I was overwhelmed at the by all the facts in the beginning. I would much rather help our environment than be right about global warming. That was a great last paragraph!

  2. christinel0017 says :

    I agree with you. Instead of bickering over who is right, shouldn’t we be trying to help out environment? I also really like your title; it was very eye-catching. Nice job!

  3. alexc0017 says :

    I liked how you said “I have heard many people say that they will be dead and gone before anything really serious happens.” I thought it was very true that the whole world is procrastinating. That completely contradicts what some of the data shows. In An Inconvenient Truth, Al Gore says that global warming could effect us hugely in just 50 years. That makes me worry and makes me think that we should start doing something about it now.

  4. kaylac0017 says :

    Thanks so much for the great comments guys! They really helped me figure out my strengths. I appreciate that you took the time to read my post!

Leave a Reply

