We Know Who to Trust

It seems like I am trying to confuse myself. Recently, I watched Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth. The movie stressed the understanding of global warming and said that humans have the biggest output of C02. Right after this, I watched The Great Global Warming Swindle, which says that Al Gore’s science is not right, that he has distorted the facts, and that humans are not the main culprit of C02 emissions. Just to further confuse myself, I watched The Big Swindle, which stated that both of the films presented both bias and scientific errors.

At this point you may be thinking “who do we trust”. Well, we trust ourselves. All of us know that global warming is real, and that it is a problem. Our problem is that we don’t want to do anything about it. We have the technology, and we also have individuals and organizations that are trying to make a difference, but it takes a village to raise a child. In order to save our Earth, we need to put forth a group effort. If we trust ourselves, we will have the Earth’s best interest at heart. I know that you hear this everyday, but carpool! Cars produce exponential amounts of C02. If everyone could help in the smallest of ways, we could solve our problem. Then our children and grandchildren would be able to enjoy the wonderful world that we live in now.

3 responses to “We Know Who to Trust”

  1. michaelm0017 says :

    I couldn’t agree more with the fact that we have all been thoroughly confused, however there is something you said I disagree with. In your post you said, “Our problem is that we don’t want to do anything about it. We have the technology…” I have to disagree with to points in that statement.

    First, I do think that we want to do something about it but, many people don’t see an obvious and easy solution. In addition to that, many people do not think that the global warming issue is a issue of the utmost importance. Many people, especially in America think that issues like, the economy, high unemployment rates and possible threats of war are more urgent issues than global warming. I do not disagree that global warming is happening, but global warming is not going to have a day like September 11th, 2001, which immediately turned the whole worlds focus to terrorism. Just like the frog in the pot with the slowly rising temperature it is slow but steady.

    The second point you made in that state meant was, “We have the technology.” Here is where I disagree most. I do not believe we have the technology to stop global warming. In fact I don’t think humans are even close. Yes it is true scientists are finding alternate fuel sources, but not nearly enough to replace the use of gas. Right now in my science class i am doing a project about finding alternate fuel sources. I have quickly discovered, that even if someone found an amazing alternate resource today, it would takes years and years to transfer to it. Imagine if there was an all new solar powered car, what would people do with the cars they have now? They couldn’t just throw them away all at once. Cars are just one way we put C02 into the air. What about all the gigantic factories that produce things we use everyday, like cars, electricity, microwaves. All of those factories put negative substances into the universe. What about nuclear weapons, just one of them exploding can radiate the surrounding areas for decades. I do not think earth has the technology to simply stop polluting the air.

    I really liked your post. I just had a few points I wanted to give you and everyone else in the class a different point of view on. -Mike

    • colbyw0017 says :

      Thanks Michael, I almost completely agree with you. I thank you for reading my post, and for taking the time to comment. However, I think that you misunderstood me. Of course global warming cannot be fixed in a day; no worldwide problem can. All I am trying to say is that we need to stop procrastinating and get on it. As for your second point, I leave you with a question: If something doesn’t have an immediate impact, does that mean that it doesn’t need to be fixed?

      -Colby

      • michaelm0017 says :

        No I understand what you were saying. I just wanted everyone to see a different point of view.

Leave a Reply

