What Can We Trust

After watching An Inconvenient Truth, The Great Global Warming Swindle, and The Big Swindle Movie, I am completely confused and I can see why the general public would be confused too. First, in An Inconvenient Truth, we were told that global warming was happening and was human caused. Then, The Great Global Warming Swindle told us that An Inconvenient Truth was wrong, and then The Big Swindle Movie said The Great Global Warming Swindle was erroneous. I am now confused on what resources I can trust.

I have seen many facts on websites like EPA.Gov  that say humans are responsible for global warming.

Over the past century, human activities have released large amounts of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases into the atmosphere.

I have also seen facts on websites like Paul MacRae that say that humans shouldn’t be held responsible for global warming.

About 16 million years ago there were carbon dioxide levels of 400 to 600 parts per million. The coasts of Antarctica were ice-free in summer, with summer temperatures 11° Celsius warmer than today.

All of this information is some of the reasons that I’m confused.

This confusion still hasn’t changed my mind about what I think of global warming. I still believe that global warming is happening, but I don’t think that humans cause it.  I don’t know if I think this is true because I really believe humans aren’t causing global warming or if I don’t want to be the cause of something that could be so bad. Not wanting to be held responsible for something like global warming may be a reason that 97% of climate scientists think global warming is happening and only 47% of the general public believe humans cause global warming. I know that I wouldn’t want to be responsible for something that could be so bad for generations to come.

These are just some of the many ways that people are managing to confuse others of this generation (and generations to come) about the topic of global warming.

One response to “What Can We Trust”

  1. chelsear0017 says :

    Adam, great job on this post, I really enjoyed reading it. Your title really caught my eye; not WHO can we trust but WHAT. This has gotten me to think about what Mr. Meyer said in class today: You can only eat an elephant by taking small bites”. I truly believe in this statement, and all of our peers need to step back and think about what we are dealing with. This is a global issue with people all over the world reading, commenting and sharing our posts. All in all, this has really got me thinking on what to do when we discuss this in class. Thanks Adam!

Leave a Reply

