Being Swindled?

Don’t worry, you’re not the only one. This title came to me when I thought back and reflected on An Inconvenient Truth. It’s inconvenient, all right. Anyone would have to know that if you make a documentary about a topic as controversial as global warming, people will start to get heated up. But sometimes, people will just take time to write what they believe is the raw truth. No side-changing opinion. Take this pointing out some of Al Gore’s mistakes, for example.

“For my part, I would say that strictly speaking, Gore oversimplified certain points, made a few factual errors and, at times, chose the wrong poster child (Mount Kilimanjaro should have been replaced by any number of Alaskan or Andean glaciers, for instance). It’s unfortunate, but it remains the most comprehensive popular documentary on climate change science I have seen.”

This is the closing paragraph for the more or less quiet article. The way New Scientist isn’t bashing Al Gore is a sign to me that this critique isn’t as biased as other articles I’ve read. So this starts my monologue on how things aren’t exactly what they seem.

Although this sounds off topic, I’m going to talk about Starburst wrappers and plastic stereos. You remember all those things made out of wrappers and boxes? The Hershey bar wrapper headband? The bottle cap dresses?At first, I thought it was an amazing idea, and I won’t lie, I even started collecting LUNA Bar wrappers and Capri-Sun pouches. But, something just a little out of my environment made me lose my biased standpoint. Are they really *upcycling* old materials into new items? No, I don’t think so anymore. I wanted to buy speakers but when I looked at reviews about them, I learned that they are just the decoration to the plastic (I’m pretty sure the plastic isn’t even recycled) stereo that produces bad quality.

I don’t know about you, but I am easily swayed. PETA, that extremist website that protects animals, has made a big difference on my life. But did you know that they put animals to sleep? I’d direct you to a page of theirs, but the pictures are more disturbing than you can imagine. No, they’re not dead cats and dogs on the street. They’re of animals that have faces that look like cement, because they’re clearly rotting. THESE PICTURES ARE DISTURBING, so take caution. I’m still haunted by the pictures; so many of the animals we euthanize suffer even before they die, all because us humans: 1) don’t spay/ neuter our pets 2) abandon animals in the most dangerous places 3) choose to look in the opposite direction of a suffering being. (I think you can tell, but I still unintentionally back PETA up a little)

Really, the grass isn’t greener on the other side. It may seem like that, but the mind can be tricked. What happens if we don’t see the truth? Will our children and our grandchildren be able to experience what our parents and grandparents got to see? Will there even be an earth left to enjoy?

About queenofmumblers

Technically, I have no real occupation because I'm in school. However, in my imagination, I'm a part time: blogger, baker, and yogi. Full-time Hustler, though... I love Netflix- almost as much as I love reading [YA novels]. My role models would probably be: Sarah Dessen, Tara Stiles, Ellen DeGeneres, and Alex Gaskarth.

Leave a Reply

