Earth Takes a Dip

After finishing up The Great Global Warming Swindle and An Inconvenient Truth I was a little perplexed about who to believe? Do I believe what I know? Do I believe what I hear on TV? Is global warming really going on? Is there a secret message we don’t know about? It seems that two different sources from 2 different videos we watched were contradicting each other. Choosing a side of who is right or wrong is quite difficult. I am still choosing now who to pick.

There is a lot of controversy about humans causing this problem. Humans emit C02 every day. So do animals, factories, and most of all, the ocean. That’s right the ocean. That is the last entity I would have thought of emitting the most C02.

As I was thinking about what factors are causing global warming, I then thought about ways to STOP global warming. Arguing about global warming doesn’t seem necessary, but to actually use this mass situation as a lesson to change and use the natural and artificial recourses we have.

The many times we try to save the earth, we are destroying it at the same time. When I went to Hawaii over the summer, we had to pick up groceries from Wal-Mart. When we went to pay for our items, instead of plastic bags, the bags were made of durable cloth. Although it cost $0.03 per bag, it was worth it. I actually got a good use out of them. This really shows how others are really trying to make a difference. The human race needs to grab the bull by the horns, and get to work on what really needs to be done – SAVE OUR PLANET!

7 responses to “Earth Takes a Dip”

  1. kmlewis1234567890 says :

    I completely agree with you! I also think that it matters more that we find a way to save the earth than arguing over what the cause is.

  2. carolelizabethk0017 says :

    I too agree. Instead of wasting all this time on what is causing it we need to do something about it to stop it before we can’t.

  3. clarkbeast says :

    Doesn’t it seem reasonable that you can’t stop a problem without knowing it’s cause, though?

    • alliej0017 says :

      While that might be helpful, I think there are some pretty well-known ways to reduce the effects of global warming, whatever the cause. Using reusable bags, like Chelsea mentioned, is a great way to keep plastic out of our landfills and oceans. I agree somewhat with you that controlling the situation completely could be problematic without knowing the cause, but there are little things we can do everyday.

      • clarkbeast says :

        Allie, but if global warming is natural, caused by some sort of natural cycle, then how would our actions have any effect? Cutting down on plastic bags might reduce the stress on our landfills and the trash in our environment, but it wouldn’t change whatever natural cycles might be causing the condition, right?

        If, on the other hand, global warming is caused by anthropogenic emissions of CO2, then it would make sense that limiting said emissions would be the action we need to take.

        I’ve seen a number of “it doesn’t matter what’s causing it–let’s just work together to stop it” statements on the blog in the last couple of weeks, but it strikes me that this isn’t completely logical thinking. Or am I missing something?

  4. granta0017 says :

    I agree with you I think that waiting all this time to try and figure out what is causing global warming we should just do something about it. I also agree with clarkbeast because if global warming is caused by anthropogenic emissions of CO2 like clarkbeast said I do agree that it would make sense that reducing the use of plastic bags.

  5. adamw0017 says :

    I like the way that you started the post off with questions. For me, it really made me want to read what you had to say about the topic.

Leave a Reply

