Can You Say Incentive? People Being Paid To Recycle!

Have you ever finished drinking out of a water bottle and right before you were about to throw it in the trash, realized that you should recycle it? Most of us have, but in some states, people don’t even own a recycle bin. Recycling transforms objects that would otherwise be put in a garbage dump into materials that we could use in a productive way. So you would think that recycling is the ideal action and many people wouldn’t think twice about doing it, right? Well, think again.

I know that many people, including myself, were unaware that in some states, people are being paid to recycle. When your trash company comes by to pick up your trash, they weigh your trash and the more you recycle, the more “RecycleBank” dollars you earn. “RecycleBank” dollars can be spent in participating retailers such as Whole Foods, RiteAid, and Starbucks. As of right now, over 250 companies are a part of this incentive program. My definition of an incentive is something, money or food, for example that you would give someone for accomplishing a goal. Incentives are an amazing way to make someone achieve an objective, but in the long run, what do they really say?

When I initially heard about this program, I thought, “That’s great! So many people will recycle now!” But now that I think about it, it is kinda sad that we need an incentive to do something so beneficial for our environment. The fact that we need incentives to do something as simple as recyclingis another component of how little people care about what is happening to our planet. Most people, when confronted with the topic of recycling, will ask the question, “What’s in it for me?” If we start preserving our planet now, we will be creating a better world for our childrenand our children’s children, and so on. But as long as some people don’t want to do anything, we can’t make progress.

Nowadays, many people feel that there are as many issues that are more prominent and relevant to them, such as the recession we are currently in. I class, we talked about whether or not the government and economy and the environment depend on each other. I think that we need to in order to really fix the issue of global warming; we need to do something about the economy. I feel that each issue is affected by one another. For example, when Hurricane Katrina hit the Gulf Coast, the costs of the damages were over eighty billion dollars. We already owed money to other countries, and paying this much money only made matters worse. So if the economy is improved, we can spend more money on improving our environment.

 

16 responses to “Can You Say Incentive? People Being Paid To Recycle!”

  1. epdwilliams says :

    LOVE YOUR TITLE!

  2. faizanb0017 says :

    While it is sad that people need an incentive to recycle, it is a step in the right direction. But as you can see, the end justifies its means. And maybe in the future we will get to a point where recycling is second nature to us. Unfortunately, that point is not now.

    • kaylac0017 says :

      I agree completely. I really look forward to the time that recycling is something that comes naturally. I hope that incentives for these types of actions become unnecessary, for that would really say something about us as humans. I really appreciate the time you took to read my post. Thanks!

  3. carolelizabethk0017 says :

    I liked the way involved the reader and made us think. I agree that we shouldn’t have to be paid to recycle but if in the long run recycling will help us that much then I think that it is ok to pay for people to recycle if it helps. Great Job on your post!

    • kaylac0017 says :

      I agree that if using incentives is what it takes to make us recycle, then fine! Thanks so much for the time you took to read and comment on my post!

  4. alexc0017 says :

    It IS kind of sad that we need an incentive because we should be worried enough about the environment to do something. But if giving us money can convince us to recycle without having a significant effect on the economy then I’m all for it.

    • kaylac0017 says :

      I really wish that we as keepers of the Earth could recycle out of the kindness of our heart, but that obviously isn’t happening. So if the solution is incentives, then we should have more! I appreciate that you read and commented on my post!

  5. granta0017 says :

    I really like your title too, I also enjoyed how you used your voice and almost talked to us. I agree that we shouldn’t be paid to recycle because that is just something that doesn’t hurt us at all and really helps the environment. I really liked your post great job.

    • kaylac0017 says :

      Thanks! Voice is something that I have been trying to work on so your comment means a lot. Thank you so much for reading my post!

  6. vickyz0017 says :

    This is such a great title. Nice vocab with the title. And, if you want more “incentive”, check out
    https://envirowriting1213.wordpress.com/2012/10/09/good-news-and-bad-news/
    because I talk about a company that creates treasure from trash.

    • kaylac0017 says :

      Thanks! Wow Vicky, your post was great! I really like the purse, I might have to get one! It’s really is amazing to think that recycling juice pouches can make something so fashionable! I think that there are so many things that can come from recycling, and once people see how recycling actually can affect them directly more people will feel inclined to recycle. Thanks for reading my post Vicky, and thanks for the reference!

  7. christinel0017 says :

    I really like your title. Your post is very interesting. I think it is sad that people need an incentive to help the earth and recycle. People should be able to recycle without the extra reward. However, any recycling people do today will help the environment whether they are being paid or not.

    • kaylac0017 says :

      Hi Christine! Thank you for leaving this comment! I agree with you that as long as recycling is happening, it doesn’t matter if we are being paid or not. In my post, I was trying to get people to realize how sad it is that incentives are necessary for recycling. We all wish that recycling was something that people did out of the kindness of their hearts, but obviously that is not the case. Thank you so much, Christine, for reading my post!

  8. elizam0017 says :

    I liked the way that you communicated with the reader. It was very entertaining and I really enjoyed reading it. I like your title as well. I wish people could recycle without being paid, but if it works…hey! Why not? It was really good!

    • kaylac0017 says :

      Thanks Eliza! Communication with the reader is a huge factor of the voice element in writing, so I appreciate that you felt I communicated with the reader in a good way! I agree that if incentives are the necessary action to make people want to recycle, then so be it! Thank you for reading my blog post and taking time to leave this helpful comment!

Leave a Reply

