Kim Kardashian vs. Global Warming

You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today.
–Abraham Lincoln

Anthropogenic Climate Change. When you look at this term, you think of many things. The first thing that hits you is the size and complexity of this term. Then you look at this phrase: Global Warming. It is straightforward and easy to understand. The world is heating up. Now when we compare these two terms, we see that the second is easier to understand, smaller, and gets to the point. So whenever we see a media report, they will use the second phrase. But this phrase is misleading. It allows us to say, “Ok the world is warming, but the world has always doing that. It gets hot in the summer and cold in the winter.”


The truth of the matter is that if global warming is real, it is probably caused by humans. When we use the term anthropogenic climate change, this point is clarified. Anthropogenic means “originating in human activity” and climate change means that the overall condition of the atmosphere is changing. When you put the two definitions together, you see that the weather of the world is changing due to humanity. However, when we use the term global warming, we say only that the Earth is heating up. There could be a number of reasons for this warming. In fact, the Earth goes through cycles that make it heat up and cool down. The problem with this theory is that humanity has never played such a large role in climate change. So one problem in the media is the use of misleading phrases.

Another problem is coverage. If you go to CNN, you will not see a story about global warming. You will see something about either politics or a famous actor/actress. And the reason for this is because the public doesn’t want to hear about issues that will affect them in 30-50 years. The public want gossip, arguments, and exciting things that will keep them on the edge on their seats. For example, if you see the Google Trends page for Global Warming vs. Kim Kardashian, Kim Kardashian outweighs Global Warming for 5 out of 8 years.

This sad fact shows how narrow minded we are. We pay more attention to a reality TV actress than to a problem that threatens the life of this planet. I believe this fact might be seen as a slight problem. We need to get ourselves back on track, otherwise we will fail our responsibilities.

No Pressure.

9 responses to “Kim Kardashian vs. Global Warming”

  1. forrestm0017 says :

    Faizan, I thought that the topic of this post is a very needed view on the way things are going for the pro-anthropogenic climate change side of this debate. I liked the way you added the quote at the beginning because I thought it goes very well with the main idea of the post. Also, the way you would put little phrases in the beginning, middle, or end of the post made your voice very apparent and I thought that that was a very good thing. Great post, Faizan.

  2. brannona0017 says :

    Faizan, I really like some of the words you used in this post and the quote.

  3. chelsear0017 says :

    Faizan, I really liked your title and shining some light on the popularity of these two topics, and actually using Google Trends to compare the popularity of the two. I could really feel the voice in this post, which I really enjoyed. One thing I would have liked to see more of is why society draws themselves to more entertaining topics, such as reality shows; instead of more important matters, such as global warming.

  4. omarim0017 says :

    faizanb, I really liked your view on this specific issue. I think you are very right with regards to this being a real problem. When we spoke to the journalist he was talking about a psychology term on how humans respond better to new and interesting things and disregard long term, and potentially more important issues. I really think something should be done about this, and I also believe I’m not alone. This could really be something good to look into–increasing publicity in global warming.

  5. colbyw0017 says :

    Faizan, I really like the way that you broke down and separated the terms “anthropogenic climate change” and “global warming.” This was a great approach towards telling people to improve. I also liked your graph about Kim Kardashian, this was entertaining and informative.

  6. ArmanV0017 says :

    I think that you had a good point going on with your title, and I liked your post a lot, but I do think that the title is a little misleading; this isn’t a bad thing however. You talk about Global Warming vs Kim Kardashian; but you don’t really go into detail about it. Instead you go into the phrases related to global warming… I liked the post don’t get me wrong, I am just giving you some advice.

  7. davidc0017 says :

    I agree with Arman. It’s a great post, but only in 1/3 of the post did you actually mention Kim Kardashian. The graph was nice and it shows us how narrow-minded we are. I think that sentence right there is also a reason they don’t show these kind of thing on the news. Who wants to be called narrow-minded and stupid? Great post Faizan.

  8. zaym0017 says :

    I also agree with Arman, but this is a great post. I think you could have went into details more about Kim Kardashian vs. Global Warming, but instead you went into to more details about the difference between Anthropogenic climate change and Global Warming. You really need to stay on topic and focus on your bite of the elephant, but great post !!!

  9. faizanb0017 says :

    First of all, I would like to thank all of you for your feedback. It means a lot to me. Secondly, I would like to apologize to those of you who thought I mislead you with my title. In the future, I will try to be more accurate. Thanks especially to Arman and Zay for the advice.

    Faizan

Leave a Reply

