How does it feel being wrong?

You know the story about being wrong? We’ve all been told the story of Road Runner and Wile E. Coyote at least once in our lives. It goes like this- a coyote is walking and marches off a cliff. He’s fine, walking on air- until he realizes he has nothing to walk on. The coyote only falls when he realizes he is wrong. Being wrong and realizing you’re wrong are totally different. So the answer to the title question is: nothing. But does that mean our actions are in vain? No, not necessarily.

And the point is this: we, the people of America, need more unbiased information if we want to do anything about the Earth. Notice how I didn’t say global warming, global cooling, or the apocalypse. I don’t know enough to really be 100% right. I used to think that recycling, eating vegetarian, and turning off every single light in my house would save the world. But now, thanks to a discussion with The New York Times environmental blogger Andrew Revkin (of dot earth, an environmental blog within The New York Times) I know that even if one family were to do that, it really wouldn’t help. And that’s when I realized I was wrong.

So what would help? Switching an entire community or even a populated, energy-using neighborhood to better energy resources (like renewable resources), for one. Changing our transportation habits would definitely make a difference. After checking out my carbon footprint, I learned that taking a car traveling to school/ work took up most of my Bigfoot carbon footprint. I  uses 14 tons of energy a year (which is the same as the average grown up), but within less than 40 years, I should lower it to 2 tons! Checking out your carbon footprint is essential if you really want to know how you impact the earth.

 

Well, the graph really speaks for itself. We all know we should carpool, yes? But if we could, we probably would be carpooling to work or school.

My final project is on changing lifestyle habits, and my partner and I are trying to answer the essential question: “How could influencing young adults to shop at farmers markets and/or garden with their parents help the environment, their health, and the economy?” And this, my fellow people of the earth, is where farmers markets and eating local and organic comes into play. Eating local foods from farmers market really affect a person’s health. Not only is the food super fresh, but the consumer almost has to eat their vegetables and fruits. Also, eating locally means the romaine lettuce and carrots we crunch don’t have to travel the hundreds of miles they usually do to end up on our plates. Did you know garlic that we cook with is usually grown in China? Now I know that 5% doesn’t sound like a lot, but when you compare that percentage to other parts of the graph we send out, it stands out. To reduce carbon emissions by changing your lifestyle habits realistically, go to a farmers market or garden at home!  And I know we can’t always pick fresh tomatoes from the garden we don’t have in our backyard, so I will continue to try and find more realistic ways of “green” living.

So, how does it feel being wrong? Like a slap to the face? Or more like, I cannot believe I did all that for nothing!? You learn from your mistakes. In this case, your mistakes would be assuming that the organic food you buy at the supermarket is good for the environment or keeping the lights on in fear of burning out your light bulbs. Think, observe, make a difference.

About queenofmumblers

Technically, I have no real occupation because I'm in school. However, in my imagination, I'm a part time: blogger, baker, and yogi. Full-time Hustler, though... I love Netflix- almost as much as I love reading [YA novels]. My role models would probably be: Sarah Dessen, Tara Stiles, Ellen DeGeneres, and Alex Gaskarth.

2 responses to “How does it feel being wrong?”

  1. kaylac0017 says :

    Vicky! Well, for one, this post is amazing! I have a question for you, are we unaware that we are wrong, and that is why we keep doing what we are doing, or are we in denial that we are wrong, and we pretend that we are right? I think that sometimes when I am fighting with a sibling, or a friend, and I realize I am wrong, I go into denial. When you are in a fight, you NEVER want to give the person you are fighting with the satisfaction of winning! I think that some people who don’t believe in global warming have realized that they are wrong, but they don’t want to give those who they are fighting that satisfaction.

    I think that it would be hard to convince people (young people especially) to eat food from farmers markets and gardens because they are too inconvenient. People these days feel that they just don’t have the time to find a farmers market or garden to get fresh goods from. They probably feel that it is so much more convenient to stop at Chick-Fil-A. on their way home from work or school. So I think that we would have to make some major changes to not only the mind set of Americans, but also the places that are available for us to get food.

    I really enjoyed your post Vicky!

    • vickyz0017 says :

      Why thank you for reading my post! To answer your question, I think the answer is both. We are unaware that we are wrong, because most of the information we have is not reliable or unbiased. However, we are all in denial that we are wrong, because that is kind of the human response. And yes, I also never like being wrong- and I hate giving the other person satisfaction that I’m wrong.

      And I feel the same way about the inconvenience of fresh, healthy foods. I believe that’s why gardens aren’t more popular- I got that information from the garden manager himself. If we (the people of America) want to change and get rid of obesity, we would definitely have to make healthier foods (like vegetables) more convenient.

      Thanks for reading my post Kayla!

Leave a Reply

