Taking a Closer Look: Nature

Can taking a closer look at the nature around change the perception a person has on the world? 

I went on a trip to Blue Ridge Center in North Carolina. Overall, the trip was very fun, but the hike changed my perspective on the way I look at the environment. When I was there, there was nature around me, 24/7. I felt like an outsider most of the time because when I do go outside, I just play sports. Similarly, most people stay inside their homes and enjoy the luxuries they have. At Blue Ridge, there wasn’t any hanging inside our hotel or anything, we stayed outside and admired the nature around us.

We did a lot of team-building activities, but most of my understanding came when we took a hike through the woods. At first, I thought this hike was going to be useless, but it was worth a shot. I started the hike, and as I was walking through the woods on the trail, I was thinking about sports, my future, and many others pleasures and gifts that GOD gave me. I was thinking about most of those pleasures and gifts, but what I noticed the most was the nature and the world and how beautiful it was.

Going through probably halfway through the hike, there was a big gaping opening. This indicated to me that some type of structure was there. I thought there could have been a house that was there before. There were trees surrounding the big opening, but I noticed something differently that no one would think of. A light bulb just clicked in my head and I was amazed. When I came upon this opening, my mind was just racing. I saw the different colors of leaves: red, yellow, brown, orange, and brownish-yellowish mixture. The air smelled like it was clean and fresh. The temperature was mildly cold with a breeze. In the big opening, I noticed what the world really should look like, feel like, and be like. It was so mind changing that I looked at this big opening for about 5 minutes. I actually noticed how beautiful and how precious this earth really is.

Walking through this opening really made me think about why are we burning coal, using fossil fuels, if the resources we are using right now are contaminating our earth. Why aren’t we conserving the earth if it was created for us? One of the verses in The Bible, Matthew 5:13, completely states what we need to do to this earth.

You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled by men.

Our creator even told us, as people, we need to preserve the earth. We are the salt, and we need to use other resources that are not contaminating the planet. We, as a country, need to buckle down and try to figure out solutions to this problem, or our future is not very bright.

2 responses to “Taking a Closer Look: Nature”

  1. austinh0017 says :

    I felt like in this post you could have done a little more with the save nature idea. I understand that you kind of had a sympathetic voice in this post but I think you should have included what we can do to help the earth instead of just setting the scene. Because I feel like we already have a good idea of what the problem is right now.

  2. zaym0017 says :

    Thanks, Austin. I wanted to set the scene like that, so you can come up with your own solutions too this problem because some people may not like mine, but thank you for your suggestion.

Leave a Reply

