The Holiday Season

The holiday season is a time for us to spend with our families and take a step back and look at ourselves. When I take a step back, I see a country full of people that are stagnant. There is no progress, but progress is needed. I see people that are shallow, people that care more about Kim Kardashian and Kanye West moving in together than they do about world hunger and global warming. I also see a country full of hypocrites. People, like myself, that preach taking action, but never take action themselves.

Lastly, the holiday season is celebrating your religion. I am Christian. 78.4 percent of America is Christian, and 32 percent of the entire world is. One of the main rules that God had for Christians is to take care of the earth. This is not happening. Most if not all of our politicians are Christian, and they aren’t taking action either. Al Franken had this to say about Christians:

The point is that there is tremendous hypocrisy among the Christian right. And I think that Christian voters should start looking at global warming as a religious issue that speaks to the culture of life.

I agree with this whole-heartedly. We don’t think of global warming as something that can affect our daily lives, much less the expensive culture of our country. In order to take action, we are going to have to work together. We will have to put our differences aside, and isn’t that what the holiday season is all about?

7 responses to “The Holiday Season”

  1. granta0017 says :

    Colby, I really enjoyed your post and how you put your own idea from your perspective of religion. I liked the quote you used and how you related religion so well to global warming. Great Job!

  2. kaylac0017 says :

    Colby, I couldn’t help but nod in agreement with you when I read your first paragraph. Now, I may agree with it, but, I can’t say that I’m not one of those people. I definitely pay a lot of attention to what the latest gossip on Justin Bieber and One Direction is. That’s not saying that I don’t care about world hunger, and global warming however. I agree with you when you said “people, like myself, that preach taking action, but never take action themselves.” I am definitely one of those people. I just kinda sit back and say, “Why aren’t these politicians doing anything about global warming?! Can’t they see it’s happening?!” In addition, I often think to myself, “What can throwing this one water bottle in the recycle bin do?” I think that part of this problem is our laziness. I truly feel that some people are just too lazy to take the extra ten steps to the recycle bin, or spend the extra dollar on the reusable grocery bags. Grant it, those who are unable to afford these bags, I cannot blame, but those who can are able reduce the amount of plastic in land fills. I think that people, including myself, wil have to realize that every little thing we do helps.

  3. johns0117 says :

    I really liked your post. I know that I myself am a hypocrite because I keep saying that we need to start working to bring down global warming, but I do nothing myself. I think that the reason for this is that the problem of global warming seems so big to me, and I think that there is nothing I can do. I also think that because I am only 13 years old and rely on adults for a lot of things, I have deluded myself into thinking that adults will stop global warming. I think that before we can work together to stop global warming we have to stop thinking of it as such a big problem, and stop relying on others to do things for us.

  4. edwardh0017 says :

    Colby I would like to say I agree with u very much so. Your word choice was great. I agree with you about the fact that the Holiday season is also a time to celebrate your religion. The only thing that I would look back at is, (I may be wrong) the part where you said “and 32 percent of the entire world is.” I am not sure if you didn’t finish the sentence or I am just reading it wrong or not understanding what you are saying. I think overall though you have a great piece of writing. The last thing that I won’t to say is that I think you should try and make your paper a little bit longer. Yet it is still a great paper. Overall A from me and a great overall paper.

  5. brannona0017 says :

    Colby I share your point of view about taking action. People are too caught up in irrelevant things because they are to weak or lazy to face the truth.

  6. austinh0017 says :

    Colby I liked your post about how we are hypocrites. This is true but when you focused in on Christians not really paying attention, I think it is sometimes because they do not care enough to educate themselves about the actual risk. But I also think that it is not just Christians who don’t care, if we want to make a change, we all must help out, not just 32% of the world.

  7. isabelled0017 says :

    I agree completely, we all really are hypocrites. Especially christians, though it kills me to say that but it’s true. But it’s not just us not changing. In fact, a lot of us are. Besides, is the other 68% doing any more? Not really, we need everyone and everything and every religion to help out. Anybody putting something on any one group is hypocritical too, because we can’t do everything by ourselves, we’re all in this together.

Leave a Reply

