I’m Right! No, I’m Right!

“It is very unnerving to be proven wrong, particularly when you are really right and the person who is really wrong is proving you wrong and proving himself, wrongly, right.” – Lemony Snicket, The Blank Book 

I think that we can all admit that we like to be right, right? Of course we can! See? I just did it there; I wanted to be right and assumed that I was. We humans do this all of the time. This is often compared to the famous television series Wile E. Coyote and Road Runner. In various episodes, Wile E. Coyote is shown running off of a cliff, while chasing a roadrunner. The coyote comes to a halt as soon as he runs off of the cliff, and floats in mid air. The second the coyote looks down and realizes that there is no longer ground under his feet is the moment in which he falls. The Coyote doesn’t fall until he realizes that he is indeed, wrong. 

Two sides of an argument that are always going at it are Democrats and Republicans. Once again, neither party wants to be wrong, and will never confess to their “opponent” that they were being wrong. Neither candidate directly said that he believes in global warming and he plans to do something about it in his term. That would probably ruin their chances of becoming president, because many people don’t believe in global warming.

Adding on to the fact of being wrong, our Environmental Writing class recently talked to Dr. Heidi Cullen of the Weather Channel. She told us that there is one part of our brains that process immediate threats, like natural disasters. She says that the other part of our brain processes less immediate threats, which for some people is global warming. People don’t think of global warming as something that is dangerous, or as something that we need to worry about. 

Over the Thanksgiving holiday, my family and I visited my grandparents in New Orleans, Louisiana, just as every year. As I have grown older, I have noticed that there are many differences between Atlanta and New Orleans. One that really sticks out in my mind is the fact that my grandparents and everyone on their entire street do not recycle. I know that I cannot blame them for this, for recycle bins are not convenient. The fact that there weren’t recycle bins was very different for me, because in some locations in Atlanta, there are recycling stations, and materials separate the bins. I am sure that New Orleans is not the only place without recycle bins everywhere, but I’m confident that there would have to be many changes made around the country, then around the world to start to lower the temperature of the place we call home; Earth. 

6 responses to “I’m Right! No, I’m Right!”

  1. christinel0017 says :

    Great post. I think that both political parties will each have a different opinion on climate change, and since both parties don’t like to agree with each other neither will say they are wrong, one party, (or maybe even both), will be walking in midair, not realizing that they are wrong and not allowing themselves to agree with the other party’s idea.

    • kaylac0017 says :

      Thank you Christine! I’m so glad you enjoyed my post! Both democrats and republicans will naturally have a different opinion on, well, everything. I wish that we could all put aside our differences and think about the bigger picture (making Earth a better place to live). Thanks for reading my post!

  2. maryt0017 says :

    I loved your post! I agree with you that no one ever like to admit that they are wrong. I agree with your mention of the human brain not quite being able to process global warming as a threat. Right now, the immediate things, such as the economy and natural disasters, and therefor people do not have the time to think about global warming as a threat because it is so far off. Especially not the adults, who it will not affect nearly as much; it is the current generation of kids that will have to deal with the problem of global warming.

    • kaylac0017 says :

      Thank you so much! I think that it will be far easier to convince the current generation of children to do something about global warming because they haven’t exactly made up their mind about which political party they want to be affiliated with. Thank you again for reading and commenting on my post!

  3. laurenm0017 says :

    Very creative post Kayla. I never really looked at the difference in the availability to help the environment. There are many things that contribute to why we don’t actively stride to help the environment, but are these same things the fuel that gets us as a world to act? Isn’t the only reason we act right now because we aren’t acting as a whole?

  4. carolelizabethk0017 says :

    Great Post Kayla! We do need to think about both sides of the situation and put them into our perspective. I really liked how it was informative but we could also tell which side you were on. Good Job!

Leave a Reply

